Using Thinglink to Link Things

I was introduced to Thinglink a few months back and was amazed at how great it was!  Then life happened and I forgot all about it.  It resurfaced when I noticed it has an iPad app.  Thinglink – yes it is really one word – lets you make your images interactive.  You start with an image and can link other images, text, youtube videos, and even videos from your iPad.  In reference to the infamous SAMR model, this thing (get it?) has redefinition written all over it!

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 3.36.32 PM

Students will need to create an account to start using ThingLink, but have no fear it allows you to sign in with your Google account.  Cue Pharrell’s Happy Song now!  I am honestly sold on anything that allows me to log into their services with my Google account.  Hint, hint to all you start up companies out there.

Yesterday I started to look at the Social Studies standards, because my default is math and I am trying to break out of my comfort zone.  Here is my creation of the fourth grade standard 4.1.5: Use maps, charts, and pictures to describe how communities in California vary in land use, vegetation, wildlife, climate, population density, architecture, services, and trans­portation.

Unfortunately I cannot embed the ThingLink,  but my work around is to have you click on the image below to see the real thing.

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 3.28.43 PM

How do you see this being used in your content area?

One thought on “Using Thinglink to Link Things

  1. I like it! Your use of the map reminded me of an activity I’ve had my students do when reading the book Homecoming. It’s the story of four kids on their own, trying to find their way to their aunt’s (then grandma’s) house. The book mentions real towns and landmarks in the New England area, so my students could use Thinglink to map out different events in the story, etc. Didn’t stray too far from your idea, here… the possibilities are endless! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

